Alaska Film Festival

More Information:

2015 Film and Screenplay Competition Winners

The Alaska International Film Awards congratulates its 2015 award recipients.

2015 Winners Official Press Release

Film Competition Winners

Grand Jury Award: Angels of Hell directed by Shameem Shahid
Special Jury Award: Peony Pavilion directed by Yao Lu
Best of Alaska Award: The Return Of The Salmon directed by Tim Plowden
Best Animation: Dead Nature directed by Mark Kent
Best Action/Adventure Film: Territorial Behavior directed by Peter Bergin
Best Comedy: Contact directed by Alexander Jeffery
Best Director: Ace on Fire directed by Kristian Messere
Best Documentary: Poverty Inc. directed by Gary Null, Valerie Van Cleve
Best Drama: Roulette directed by Christine Kelly
Best Educational Film:Walking in Two Worlds directed by Bo Boudart
Best Enviornmental Film: Ocean directed by Stephanie Maxwell 
Best Family Film: My last concert directed by Selcuk Zvi Cara
Best Narrative Feature: Time Teens: The Beginning directed by Ryan Alexander Dewar
Best Narrative Short: The Last One directed by Sergei Pikalov
Best Romance: The surrender directed by Paul Ruven
Best Screenplay: 1st Time 16mm directed by Rui Goulart
Best Short Film: A Day Of Lucidity directed by Sarah Barbault, Emilie Barbault
Best Sci-Fi Film: Helio directed by Teddy Cecil
Best Student Film: Take a Stand directed by Austin Fickman
Best Thriller: Awaken directed by Mark Atkins
Best Music Video: The Blue Marble Of Joys And Sorrows directed by Paolo Pizzi

Kodiak Awards

The Magic Train directed by Joe Chang, Zhang Zhenxing, Shen Yifan ete
"Fade Away" Music Video directed by Jethro Rothe-Kushel
Let's Play Ghost directed by Damien Dematra
Deep Water directed by Daniel Zagaevsky
Shtax'heen Kwaan: A Rededication directed by Kristin Galla
Reestablishment directed by Shi qin
Parallel Maze directed by Ya Hua
Slushamed directed by Marisa McInnes-Taylor
A Frenchman in Barrow directed by Alexander Norton
God Has Arrived directed by Paul Peterson

Denali Awards

Run Crab Run! directed by Wei Lu
Jobwatch directed by Yoong Wah Alex Wong
The Urban World directed by Warren Bass
Humanexus directed by Ying-Fang Shen
Plundering Tibet directed by Michael Buckley
Bum on a Bench: A Fight to the Death at Storybook Park directed by Eli Halbreich
Alegria - A Humanitarian Expedition directed by Christoph von Toggenburg
Label directed by Jaschar L Marktanner
3 References directed by James Christopher
Mousse directed by John Hellberg
Who Mines The Riches - by Strange Tenants directed by Jeff Bird

Northern Lights Emerging Talent Awards

Breaking the Ice directed by James Beavers
The Storyteller directed by Danielle Paulet, Holly Fields, Ai Zhang, Zhou Quan
God is American directed by Richard Martin-Jordan
Little Big George directed by Priyanka Tanwar
From Five till Seven directed by Vladimir Shegolkov
In Transit directed by Daniel Avilés E.
Francesca directed by Gaëna da Sylva
Awaken directed by Bruce Sze Han Chen
Beautiful Mind by the Phantom Hitmen directed by Matt Rossner
The Amateurs directed by Sergey Dakhin

Screenplay Competition Top Winners

1st Place Screenplay - “I Married A Klingon” written by Natalie Tolmasoff
2nd Place Screenplay - “Hooked” written by Timothy Benson
3rd Place Screenplay - “Locations” written by Michael McClendon
Kodiak Award - “Spirit Dance” written by Kitania Kavey
Denali Award - “Gone Fishing” written by Steven Canfield Crowley
Northern Lights Emerging Talent Award - “Taco Day in Heaven” written by Paul Peterson

Screenplay Competition Official Finalists

“20/20: Search for Independence” written by Harold L. Brown
“AKATEWA” written by Jean-Marie MAZALEYRAT, Edith WOI
“My One Square Inch of Alaska” written by Sharon Short
“CUL-DE-SAC” written by Jana Meador
“Hell on Neptune” written by Robert J. Rogers
“Pipeline” written by Jody Ellis
“Shangri-LA” written by Bryan Fierro
“Still In The Game” written by George R. Flowers
“Loveband” written by Nicola Pedrozzi
“Text Messages To God” written by David Bryant Perkins
“The Night Witches” written by Steven John Prowse
“Eleven Days” written by Jaginder Singh
“Hitler’s Astrologer” written by David Bryant Perkins
“A Clash Of Iron” written by Richard Brent Reed
“Gone Into The Clearing” written by Brad Ridddell
“Unite As One” written by Wangshu Zhao
“Polar Bear” written by Alexander Norton